Oh yes! I’m fat and that’s none of your business ðŸ‘ŠðŸ‘Š

When I was 17 years old, my weight was a little more for my years. 67 kg! 

Why so? Because I was diagnosed with PCOS- a hormonal disease that affects women of childbearing age. The disease has many symptoms but in my case, there was weight gain and obviously irregularities in periods. Sometimes I had severe headaches and mood swings that went rampant and ignored. My doctor told me that the disease had no cure… Just can be controlled. She also told that if I lost even 5% of my weight, then my symptoms were likely to reduce. But, I tell you that PCOS is such a crazy condition! I mean your hormones go all crazy, your metabolism goes all crazy and even you mind goes super-crazy! One doesn’t know that in PCOS, whether the weight triggers the condition, or the condition triggers the weight. So you have to be bent upon reducing weight- because as I mentioned that my doctor told me that the disease had no cure; it can just be controlled. She suggested me the type of diet and that I should exercise regularly.

So, unwillingly, I went to the park to have a walk. The only category of people interested in walking were senior citizens of 60+ age or some boys warming themselves up. Some fat aunties were also there. There were some girls sitting on benches and having gala time with their friends. All of them had perfect slim figures! I never noticed my obesity and their slim-n-trim figures when I was oblivious of my disease. But today, I managed to steal a side glance at them while I was jogging. My bad luck that they caught my eye! 

Fatso”, someone shouted from behind. Every time I crossed them they would either laugh, or shout me names! This continued for several days. Before this, many of my friends and relatives too had remarked that I looked obese, but that never bothered me. But suddenly, all this “fatso” business started bothering me. Their laughs bothered me.

 One fine day, after returning home, I shared it with my mother. She hugged me tight and told me that she loved me, nomatter how fat I was. That gave me some strength. 

I searched some motivational quotes on Internet. There were many of them, but one of them literally touched me-

If people hurt you, criticise you, don’t get upset… Remember, in a game, it is the audience that makes the noise, not the player!”

 Yeah, it now became somewhat clear to me. I was different from them. I went to some other parks and surprisingly, I found none girls my age that were interested in fitness. I guess, they are interested in dieting more. I decided to not give a damn to what they called me or on their laughs. 

 One fine day, one of them tripped my leg so that I may fall down. They started laughing. All of them! I had two options- to feel miserable or to make them feel miserable. So I joined them in. I started laughing and I laughed so hard that they thought I was mad. They made a perplexed face, and I got up and completed my jogging. Eventually, they stopped doing that…

Post scriptum- This post wasn’t to gain any kind of sympathy, but to inform other girls having PCOS that do not get demotivated by what others have to say. In my case it was weight, in your case it could be acne, excessive growth of hair, etc. It is difficult to cope up with the mood swings the condition brings. Yes it completely sucks to have hormonal pills and even anti- infertility drugs whether you are a teenager or an adult. But trust me, you can nail it! Just never loose your beautiful smile.Good luck.👍☺😊

142 thoughts on “Oh yes! I’m fat and that’s none of your business ðŸ‘ŠðŸ‘Š

Add yours

  1. Really motivational..

    If only people learned not to judge by appearance..
    And just because they were blessed with looks we consider perfect..don’t mean they have to be completely mean..

    Accepting ourselves as is.. is sometimes so hard when society makes you feel so rotten to be you..
    aaahhh!!!!!
    Keep smiling girl..
    what others have to say about you..
    is really none of your business..

    So just keep going and ignore them

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Poor you! I sympathise. I suffered with PCOS badly. But with the right medication and lifestyle I managed to control it. I have 2 children now and none of the outward symptoms!!!

    Liked by 4 people

    1. That’s great that you overcame it. However, I would appreciate if you do not sympathize, rather understand. I say this in a very light-hearted way, so please don’t mind.
      High fiving to you because both of us are survivors 🤘

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I would not be friends with anyone who was critical or disrespectful towards someone because they were heavier, lighter, a different colour or any other ridiculous reason.
    When I see someone jogging who is carrying extra weight, I admire them because they have to put far more effort into it than me. The bigger they are, the bigger my admiration.
    No matter how someone looks on the outside if they do not have beauty on the inside, their appearance is meaningless.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Himanshi very good post yaar ,, i donot know why people judge by your body,,,you know i am too skiiny girl so so slim,,yaa people laugh at me too ,,but i also laugh with them ,,,because they donot know the reason but i know the reason why i am so slim :)) yaa i will hurt so many times but forgive too or ignore them too ! 😊😊😊😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. See it’s good to read cause you learn something new everyday, I know how it feels to not be happy with your weight, I’m happy to started laughing at those insensitive people I wish you all the best with this journey you’re on xox

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I can just picture you laughing hysterically! What a great story. I’ve never heard of PCOS before, but I’ve been fat my whole life so I can relate. The people who do those things are usually the ones who dislike themselves the most. They feel they have to hurt others in orders to make themselves feel superior.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Whatever may be their state of mind, one thing was sure that somewhere deep down they knew that they were wrong, because they stopped it eventually. No guilts, it made me stronger.
      Thanks for reading. I hope you too don’t pay heed to their comments. ☺

      Like

  7. No matter how you look what matters is what you are as person. No other than your family understands your problems.. lucky is the who understands the harmonal problems.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The article was good and practical problems faced on different conditions👍and thanks to you for giving a positive start..😊

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I don’t think your fat or suffering from any kind of syndrome… You are perfectly fine😊
    Yesterday I came across lot of people who suffered a lot but then also they are didn’t stoped and today they are one of the best…. To name a few anshuman sharma(suffered from (fibromyalgia) and Bhaskar Diwakar(sociophobic for 10 years due to bullying) both are great poets..
    Do have a look at my recent post”LitUp” for reference 😊
    Always be positive and stay strong☺

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Well, sweetheart…you certainly have been through your share of hardships. I am glad you were able to persevere and rise-above the ashes–so to speak. It is a pleasure to read your posts and look forward to more to come. Please provide me any feedback you may have on my blog…if you feel compelled to do so. I embrace words, even if that sounds particularly odd. My writings provide me an outlet to escape and bathe in my own bliss (Laughs). I am sure you feel the same way with your blogging. You are an exceptional writer. Don’t let anyone tell you differently. I was told horrible things as a child…I never let it stop me from achieving greater things. You always got a friend in me regardless 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your wonderful words made my day☺ Thanks for reading my posts and loving it. I am glad that I found a new friend in you… Yes I have totally same feelings that you have for your blog. I am addicted to my blog like Facebook and WhatsApp!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. So sorry that happened to you. I don’t understand people. How can you treat anyone this way? There is so much value in everyone and to take any time out of their day to tear someone down is a reflection on them, not their target!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Never listen to anyone. Individually, we all have something going on that is a business to mind, therefore none of us can point a finger at anyone. Move on with your life and make yourself happy, so one day you can prove them wrong! Good luck to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Very inspirational! First of all because you took action to improve your health, many don’t. Secondly that despite those cruel people you were not deterred and you overcame their cruelty by confusing them. Good for you!

    Like

  13. this is a wonderful story, i’m glad you shared it and that you’re able to laugh at life {and to not take what others think seriously}. also, them laughing had more to do about them than you. keep it going, keep it strong. (;

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I have so many things to talk about on this topic. So freaking many. I’ll save it for a post. 😛 This reminds me of a quote of mine (mine because I think i heard it somewhere and googled, and didn’t find it anywhere – may have originated in my head only. Anyway) – if you’re not getting criticised, you’re not progressing in life!
    This post is very relatable. Will talk about this more in detail, later.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. My wife also had PCOS. After a hysterectomy some years ago, most of the symptoms went away.
    You do well to highlight the condition, which is rarely discussed.
    Thanks for following my blog. It is much appreciated.
    Best wishes from England.
    Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Great post!
    Reminded me of when I was growing up as I too was overweight. Then got into my early twenties and the weight fell off so go figure. I’ve never heard of PCOS.
    People can be cruel but you learn to switch off. 😉

    Like

  17. Im glad that you were able to share this im going through similar sitiations. I suffer from pcos as well only my tormentors are old friends who have kids now and laugh and talk about the fact that i cant. I want to start a family and its so difficult to have the idea that it may never happen. Im working on myself and would love to go over any diets or exercise thats working for you. Again Thanks for sharing and i look forward to hearing from you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Firstly you have to exercise daily without skipping. It could be any physical exercise. I prefer a walk for 1 hour daily. Then you must faithfully take the medicines ascribed to you by the gynae. Keep one thing in mind that you can overcome it, no matter what. You don’t have to take any stress, because that triggers your symptoms. I have read the stories of other women who had babies even with pcos, for one simple credit that they didn’t give up!
      As regards the diet thing, they say that you must not consume carbs a lot(do not do away with it completely). Have fruits like kiwi, guava, apple, etc which have low gl. Overall, do not be too strict with yourself and explore ways that you enjoy. Good luck 👍☺😊
      I believe that you will overcome it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

