WORLDLY BASTARD

Oh poor unthinking, human heart! Error will not go away. Logic and reason are slow to penetrate. We cling both arms to false hope, refusing to believe the weightiest proof against it, embracing it with all our strength. In the end it escapes, ripping our veins and draining our heart’s blood; until regaining consciousness, we rush to fall into snares of delusion all over again.

-RABINDRA NATH TAGORE

The day one is born; one is entitled to so many relations…son/daughter, brother/sister, nephew/niece, grandson/granddaughter, sibling, etc. Then as one grows up, one is acquainted with the other relations as well. The primary one being that of parents and grandparents and baby-sitters, if you were doomed enough. Then of course, stupid relatives and aunts pulling your cheeks, if you were doomed enough to have chubby cheeks. Teachers to guide you, friends to support you, siblings to fight and play with you, boyfriend/girlfriend (if you are lucky enough, in that case!) to love you, your husband/wife (if at all, you wish to, or manage to survive by then) to entwine your fingers, your in-laws(if they are kind enough) your kids to flourish a smile on your face, your son/daughter in law, your grandchildren…and you greeting death sans teeth! SCARY! Absurd and pointless, isn’t it?

But yeah, most of us waste our lives, as if they were pointless, as if they were for granted. No, don’t take it the wrong way…not by not achieving what one wants in life. How many times does one actually live one’s life according to one’s own wish and not let others dictate one in the path that one endeavours to follow? I love photography! But, will my parents let me choose it as a career? I don’t want him/her to go away from me. It hurts my feelings.  Will my boyfriend/girlfriend understand it for once? I want to wear this one piece dress; it’s so cool! But will my uncles/aunts like it enough? I love that diamond ring…it’s so beautiful that it’ll make all my friends jealous of me! But, will my husband be able to afford it enough? I may look damn sexy and provoking in that shirt! But will my wife like it enough? As a kid, I really wanted to go to Paris. But then, will my account balance be sufficient enough? Oh no! I am suffering with leukaemia! But will the insurance amount for my family be enough?

No, it’s not sarcasm that I meant. But yeah, we actually need to ponder over it. Every time we have to make a choice, we are obliged or rather scared of what others around us will think about us. How would they react? How would they feel? Why not live life as you want to? Why not tell life…that it wasn’t you that were gifted to me…rather, it was I who was gifted to you. And yes, the old adage; “What is this life if full of care… we have no time to stand and stare…?”

2 thoughts on “WORLDLY BASTARD

Leave a Reply

